So when it comes to sequins its hard to keep my inner drag queen under control. When I see them, I want to break all fashion rules and wear a full Liza Minnelli glam pantsuit. It seems that when it comes to sequins there is an extreme binary of either being a grandma sequin applique sweatshirt or stripper mesh sequin star pasties. There typically isn’t much in between. It can be even more difficult to find anything sequin that is classy — and doesn’t look like a high school prom dress. So these are the good, the bad, and the ugly of the sequin world. Check it out.

The Good:

Details: Lush ruffled rosettes adorn the shoulder and front of an Empire-waist dress in fluid crepe for the top and sheer tulle for the skirt. Beaded inset waist lends visual interest and flatters the figure. Pullover styling; partial side zip closure. Gathered skirt. Below knee length. Lined in polyester moss crepe. 100% Polyester. Hand wash.

One Shoulder Tulle Dress with Rosette Trim

Size: Custom Sizing for $7.50 Extra or Standard Sizing XS – 3x

Color: Black & Olive

Price:$84.95 (+7.50 for custom sizing & +7.50 for custom styling)

Website: http://www.eshakti.com

I am absolutely obsessed with this  dress and the website! This dress is so unique, flirty, and fun while still holding on to an element of class. The gathered skirt and sequined waistband totally break the sequin mold. The ruffled rosettes add to the texture and formulate an interesting and unconventional neckline.

The website eshakti is 50% of why this dress is so amazing. This website is built on the belief that clothes should be created for individuals regardless of their size because “god” made everyone beautiful. Because of this, every dress is customizable from colors to hem lengths to straps. It is almost guaranteed that whatever you order will be just what you are looking for and will look fabulous on you.

The website has many beautiful and elegant sequined dresses but I chose to display this one in particularly because it is my favorite. I can see myself rocking it with some gladiators and a clutch at a cocktail party or a swanky affair uptown.

Crisscrossed pleating refines the curve-hugging silhouette of a shimmering jersey dress. Beads, sequins and paillettes trim the cap sleeves, sweetheart neckline and back shoulders. Back zip with hook-and-eye closure. Approx. length from shoulder to hem: 39 1/2". Fully lined; rubber gripper in front and shoulder backs. Polyester/spandex; dry clean. By Tadashi Shoji; imported

Tadashi Shoji Pleated Metallic Jersey Sheath Dress (Plus)

Size: 1X – 3X (14-22)

Color: Smoke Pear

Price: $458.00

Website: http://shop.nordstrom.com

Simple and elegant this sweet sparking sequin dress stands out on its own. Perfect for any high-class affair this is sequins at its best. You don’t find many dresses out there for plus size women that are as sexy and sophisticated as this. Coming out of the dress barn and stepping out on fifth avenue, this is a style not to be overlooked.

While some might say they are to self-conscious to wear this being a bigger grrrl but I say hell do it. I want to see a plus size grrrl rock this at an award show (or a similar style) — maybe Gabourey Sidibe or America Ferrera. Just saying, I can be the next Rachael Zoe but 100.000 x’s more fabulous. So big girls if you are reading this and need a fashion consultant hit me up — this includes you Amber Riley.

Okay i’m finished propositioning you now on to the bad… well… and ugly… since they kind of go hand in hand.

The Bad & The Ugly

I'm wearing a ugly shirt with a sequined penis on it and I know it!

Butterfly Chiffon Caftan Top

Website: http://www.forever21.com

What the hell is this? Seriously? Just because i’m plus size doesn’t mean I have no fashion sense. What the hell is up with that sequined penis on it? I can’t handle this monstrosity. With a clown collar and a butterfly, she is ready to hit the local walmart.

Even the model in this photo is like…. “are you serious?” Someone is going to buy this shit? For $29.80? Plus, a see through shirt? Is this 1999? Really forever 21 step your game up and stick with hipster styles and neon, not this girly butterfly shit shows.

You know I was just thinking that my jeans needed more sequins across the ass...

Changes Boutique Crop Jeans

Website: http://www.simplybe.com

I woke up today and I was thinking where the hell could I find some amazing denim crops that have sequins sewn across the ass, oh wait that was a nightmare.

This should go without saying but who in their right mind wants a pair of jeans with sequins thrown on them just on the butt. Oh, I’m plus size and self-conscious of my giant ass but I want my ass to stand out and sparkle. WTF.

And what is up with the skid mark of sequins right on the butt crack? And the random fading and whiskered pattern. I can’t handle this any longer…

I think I need to look away before I go blind.

So what do you think? Agree? Disagree? Have more you want to share? Visit me on twitter @the_cute_chunk or e-mail me at: thecutechunk@gmail.com with your comments/questions/concerns/whatever. Of just comment below!

See you next time fashionistas.

xoxoxoxoxo

The Cute Chunk

